Showing Collections: 201 - 225 of 436
Owen G. Jarboe Scrapbooks
Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2009.145
Scope and Contents
The following description was excerpted from a note by the seller: "Two scrapbooks, 1928-1948, of Owen Jarboe, General Traffic Supervisor of the Associated Telephone Co. and later of the US Army Signal Corps. Included are newspaper clippings, greeting cards, correspondence and photographs. There are original Signal Corp photographs that are duplicated in magazine articles, some of which include Owen Jarboe, who also wrote some of the articles. There are also Rotarian items in the books...
Dates:
1928-1948
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Jefferson H. Clark Collection
Collection
Identifier: MS 00107
Scope and Contents
This collection consists of the papers of Jefferson H. Clark, a Philadelphia, Pennsylvania physician, who was a field surgeon in France during World War I, and of the research papers of his daughter Mary Clark Shade (1928-2009), who was working on a book documenting her father's WWI duty. Jefferson H. Clark's papers include diaries, an officer's record book, correspondence, military orders and records, maps (one of which is labeled 'trench map'), photographs, dictionary, his...
Dates:
1914-2000
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
John Tuthill Papers
Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2001.03
Scope and Contents
Papers of John Wills Tuthill, a United States 20th century diplomat. The collection includes papers from Tuthill's years as a student and professor, his State Department career, his private career with international organizations and his retirement years. He held many positions within the State Department, mostly in Germany and Europe, with his final posting as Ambassador to Brazil. As a private citizen, he was Director of the Atlantic Institute, President of the Salzburg Seminar, and...
Dates:
1933-1998
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
John's Church Choir and Sandybrooke Wedding Party Photographs
Collection
Identifier: SC 00797
Scope and Contents
Photograph of "John's Memorial Choir" Farmville [Virginia] dated 1901 and sent to an unknown person by Walter B. Capers, "friend and former rector." Photograph of a wedding party on the steps of a house or hotel with sign, "Sandybrooke." over the porch, undated. Photographs are glued on crumbling black cardboard, but copies of each are also included. Names of wedding party on back of cardboard, but mostly illegible.
Dates:
1901 and undated
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Jay W. Johns, Jr. Papers
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 74 J64
Scope and Contents
The collection contains mostly personal and business correspondence of Jay Winston Johns, Jr., including papers of the Atlas Fuel Corporation of New York, New York and Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania; Lee-Jackson Memorial, Inc.; the Virginia Trust for Historic Preservation; and "Ash Lawn," now owned by the College of William and Mary.The correspondence of Johns includes correspondence with Virginia Democratic Party figures such as Albertis S. Harrison, William M. Tuck, Mills Godwin,...
Dates:
1918-1979
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Helen L. Johnson Papers
Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2009.305
Scope and Contents
Papers of Helen L. Johnson, circa 1925-1940, covering her activities with the Methodist Episcopal Church Woman's Home Missionary Society. Materials include letters addressed to Johnson, photographs, programs, fliers, prayers and religious songs and other ephemera of a religious nature. Geographic areas covered include Ohio, Pennsylvania, Nebraska, and New York State.
Dates:
1900-1982; Majority of material found in 1925-1940
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Jon Gilbert Fox collection
Collection
Identifier: MS 00383
Content Description
The Jon Gilbert Fox collection contains photographs, newspaper clippings, theater posters, essays, and ephemera relating to LGBTQ+ history, events and political activism.
Dates:
1968-2007
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Hugh Jones Collection
Collection
Identifier: UA 6.010
Scope and Contents
This collection includes biographical materials and photocopies of correspondence, manuscripts, and the inventory of Hugh Jones' estate. The collection also contains material written about Hugh Jones, including correspondence and a copy of Grace Warren Landrum's 1943 article "Which Hugh Jones?"
Dates:
circa 1716-1943
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
W. Melville Jones Papers
Collection
Identifier: UA 6.026
Scope and Contents
This collection documents activities and events at the College of William and Mary during the career of W. Melville Jones. It is primarily composed of material collected in scrapbooks. The first scrapbook was digitized and the original returned to the donor. For the digital scans of the first scrapbook, the papers are arranged as a model of the original volume. The papers are arranged chronologically with two loose photographs without a date filed at the end. Identification...
Dates:
1930-1982
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
W. Melville Jones Photographs of Williamsburg (Va.)
Collection
Identifier: SC 01188
Scope and Contents
Three photographs of two homes in Williamsburg, Virginia where W. Melville Jones lived during 1934 and 1936. The two houses were rented to The College of William and Mary faculty. One house is a two story building which was beside the Theta House, but is now a vacant lot and the second house was near the intersection of North Boundary and Richmond Road and is now a park/garden. One photograph of a car at an auto repair shop which is where the Blue Talon is in...
Dates:
1934-1936
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Richard G. Joynt Collection of British Manuscripts
Collection
Identifier: MS 00032
Scope and Contents
Richard G. Joynt's collection of British manuscripts, from the 15th to the 20th century, of 88 letters and documents, 41 cut signatures, and many book engravings. The authors and signatures include kings, queens, prime ministers, nobles, military officers, authors, and other dignitaries. Personal matters, military orders and letters, religion, treaties, politics, intrique, and much more are covered in these letters, often interwoven with current events.
Dates:
1593-2015 and undated
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Wilford Kale Papers
Collection
Identifier: 00/05/UA 5.009
Scope and Contents
The bulk of the collection includes drafts, proofs, publicity material, photographs, correspondence, and related material from the writing career of Wilford Kale. Material is available for Hark Upon the Gale, Private Homes in Williamsburg, The Brafferton: The Education of the Indian, Goal to Goal: 100 Seasons of Football at William and Mary, and Parke Rouse's Jamestown. There is also correspondence and reports from the 275th and 300th anniversaries of the College of William and Mary, the...
Dates:
1966-2008
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Anatole and Vladimir Kalichevsky Papers
Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2002.K34
Scope and Contents
This small collection, 1871-1955, primarily in Russian, documents the military career of Russian Major General Anatole Kalichevsky (1870-1937) and the travel diaries of his son, Vladimir Kalichevsky (1895-1958), a petroleum engineer who spent most of his career in Texas and northern New Jersey. Examples of items relating to Anatole are his service record, military orders, his diplomatic passport, and his "New York Times" obituary. Vladimir, a graduate of the California Institute of...
Dates:
1871-1955
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Kappa Alpha, Alpha Zeta Chapter Records
Collection
Identifier: UA 7.001
Scope and Contents
This collection includes photographs, fliers, scrapbooks, a dance card, programs, miscellaneous material, and a guest register of the Kappa Alpha, Alpha Zeta Chapter fraternity at the College of William and Mary. The fraternity is also known as Kappa Alpha Order. Many of the photographs document the fraternity's Old South Week and Old South Ball and are from the 1950s-1970. The earliest item in the collection is a dance card from 1915. The collection also includes three issues of the...
Dates:
1915-2008; Majority of material found in 1948-2008
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Charlotte Kaufman Papers
Collection
Identifier: MS 00339
Scope and Contents
Acc. 2007.92: Original and copies of individual parts for musical instruments and scripts for voices for five ballad operas: Robin Hood, Devil to Play, Mock Doctor, Thomas and Sally and the Beggar's Opera. Photographs, copies of miscellaneous theater airs and songs, research material, programs, posters, and working papers. These operas were performed by Friends of Dr. Burney who later changed their name to Boston Musical Theater and were directed by Charlotte Kaufman....
Dates:
1980-1990
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Janet C. Kimbrough Williamsburg Area History Collection
Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss. Acc. 1985.50, 1991.36 and 1993.06
Scope and Contents
Collection of material about Williamsburg, Virginia area history including Colonial Williamsburg Foundaton, Williamsburg Public Library, "Model" school of Williamsburg, Yorktown Bicentennial, Bundles for Britain and more. Includes photographs of family and friends, many set in Williamsburg, and photograph of dedication of the Confederate Monument on the Palace Green.
Dates:
1873-1994
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
King's Daughters. Kate Custis Circle (Williamsburg, Va.) Records
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 71 K61, 2008.134, 2010.330
Scope and Contents
Mss. 71 K61 includes the records of the Kate Custis Circle of the King's Daughters of Williamsburg, Virginia: a printed history of the circle by Estelle H. Smith; minutes of the circle meetings; correspondence; newspaper clippings; photographs; minutes of state convention meetings; programs of state conventions; scrapbooks; and leaflet concerning Estelle H. Smith. Mss. Acc. 2008.134 (Box 5) includes journal records from 1913-1933. Mss. Acc. 2010.330 (Box 6) includes...
Dates:
1893-1970
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Amos Koontz Papers I
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 65 K83
Scope and Contents
The collection consists mainly of certificates presented to Amos R. Koontz, M.D., by the army, together with his medals in a frame, and membership certificates in organizations. Included is a competition for designs for National Military Dress (1809); and shoemaker’s account books of Harden Keyser (1849-1861), one of which Mattie Keyser used as a scrapbook at a later period and in which she wrote autograph poems; a souvenir booklet of the Panama Pacific Exposition (1915); and genealogical...
Dates:
1809-1965; Majority of material found in 1936-1965
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
William Lamb Papers
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.1 L16
Scope and Contents
Diaries, 1855, 1859-1861, 1864-1909, (52 volumes) of Col. William Lamb (1835-1909), written while a student at the College of William and Mary, newspaper editor, Civil War commander of Fort Fisher, N.C. (1862-1865), coal merchant, Norfolk businessman and mayor (1880-1886), and member of the Board of Visitors and Rector of William and Mary. Collection also includes diary, 1861, and some letters of his wife Sarah Annie Chaffee Lamb as well as page proofs and other material relating...
Dates:
1835-1909
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
J. Wilfred Lambert Papers
Collection
Identifier: UA 6.067
Scope and Contents
The collection includes awards and certificates of appreciation from organizations such as the Alumni Society, Circle K, Omicron Delta Kappa; photographs of Lambert with staff and students, as well as many College events such as Commencement, Parents Day, and ROTC Summer Camp; and a copy of a Commencement program from 1927 when Lambert graduated from William and Mary with a Bachelor of Arts degree. The collection also contains a scrapbook including photographs, clippings, and other...
Dates:
1927-1986
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Grace Warren Landrum Papers
Collection
Identifier: UA 6.013
Scope and Contents
This collection contains biographical materials, correspondence, notebooks, scrapbooks, and other material related to former College of William and Mary Dean of Women Grace Warren Landrum from 1890-1995. Also included in the collection are dance and banquet programs; information about the dedication of Landrum Hall; and programs, news clippings, and photographs relating to the Matthew Whaley School from 1931-1932.
Dates:
1890-1995
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Lane Carlson papers
Collection
Identifier: MS 00004
Scope and Contents
Papers, 1937-1972, of Colonel Bonnie "Lane" Carlson, originally from Scotts Bluff, Nebraska. Colonel Lane Carlson was one of the first five female colonels in the United States Army. Primarily includes letters written to and from her parents throughout her life, beginning with her time at Sullins College in Bristol, Virginia, various military bases, postwar Japan and West Germany. Some of the topics discussed in the letters include base life during the war, the experience of a commissioned...
Dates:
1937-1972 and undated
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
The Reverend Henry Gardiner Lane Memorial Collection
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 90 L24
Scope and Contents
Correspondence, chiefly 1850-1900, of members of the family of Henry Gardiner Lane, an Episcopal clergyman of Mathews and Gloucester counties, Va. Correspondents include members of the Harrison, Randolph, and Lane families of Mathews and Gloucester counties, Va. Included are autograph and composition books, wills, certificates of indenture, Civil War pardon, Confederate bonds and almanacs. See Also: Southern Women and their Families in the 19th Century Papers and Diaries Series C...
Dates:
1799-1938
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Marion Sargent Lane Scrapbook
Collection
Identifier: UA 5.091
Scope and Contents
The scrapbook of College of William and Mary student Marion Sargent Lane includes photographs of students, some routine correspondence from William and Mary, news clippings, programs, dance cards, corsages, and related material compiled by the student during her time at the College of William and Mary.
Dates:
circa 1928-1930
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Langley Air Field Photograph Album
Collection
Identifier: MS 00094
Scope and Contents
Collection of 59 silver print photographs of early images of Langley Air Field in 1918- 1919. At that time the base was called the United States Army School of Aerial Photographic Reconnaissance, founded in 1917. Depicted in the photographs are images of Curtiss JN-4 Jennys both on the ground and in flight, a picture of the school's commanding officer, Captain M.A. McKinney, Jr., and multiple shots of pilots and planes in flight. There is also one photograph of an aerial shot of Hampton/...
Dates:
1918- 1919
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center